Tag Archives: Justin Vernon

Video: Bon Iver & Sharon Van Etten Do ‘Love More’

The night of July 16, 2014, Justin Vernon of Bon Iver joined Sharon Van Etten at the Minneapolis venue First Avenue to perform “Love More.”

It’s beautiful.

Here’s Sharon Van Etten’s recording of “MOre Love”:

Here’s a version of “More Love” by Bon Iver.

[In August of this year I’ll be publishing my rock ‘n’ roll/ coming-of-age novel, “True Love Scars,” which features a narrator who is obsessed with Bob Dylan. To read the first chapter, head here.

Or watch an arty video with audio of me reading from the novel here.

–- A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

Video: Justin Vernon, Megafaun Do ‘Boomer’s Story’ In Durham, NC

Last night Justin Vernon joined his old bandmates, Megafaun, for a spirited verson of Carson Jay Robison’s “Boomer’s Story,” the title song of Ry Cooder’s third album.

“Boomer’s Story”:


“Kaufman’s Ballad”:

Thanks, Stereogum!

– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

Watch: Volcano Choir Play New Song at Fonda Theater – Jan. 18, 2014

Photo via Volcano Choir Facebook page.

Check out this new song, which Volcano Choir played a few nights ago (January 18, 2014) at the Fonda Theater in Los Angeles.

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

Listen: Stream Or Download Volcano Choir’s Remix EP

Justin Vernon’s Volcano Choir is giving away their new Comrade remix ep.

The tracks:

1 Comrade (All Tiny Creatures Remix)
2 Comrade (Altos Remix)
3 Comrade (Collections Of Colonies Of Bees Remix)
4 Comrade (Rosenau Remix)

Listen below or download at Soundcloud.

Listen: Stream Justin Vernon Produced Blind Boys Of Alabama Album


The Blind Boys of Alabama have made a beautiful new album, I’ll Find a Way, with the help of Bon Iver/Volcano Choir frontman Justin Vernon. This is a classic gospel album, but with some very hip guests including Shara Worden of My Brightest Star, Patty Griffin and Merrill Garbus of tUnE-yArDs. Vernon himself joins the group on “Every Grain of Sand.”


I’ll Find a Way tracklist:

1. God Put A Rainbow In The Cloud

2. I’ll Find A Way (To Carry It All) (featuring Shara Worden of My Brightest Diamond)

3. I Am Not Waiting Anymore (featuring Sam Amidon)

4. I Shall Not Be Moved

5. Take Me To The Water

6. I’ve Been Searching (featuring  Merrill Garbus of tUnE-yArDs)

7. There Will Never Be Any Peace (Until God Is Seated At The Conference Table) (featuring Casey Dienel of White Hinterland)

8. Take your Burden To The Lord And Leave It There

9. Every Grain Of Sand (featuring Justin Vernon of Bon Iver)

10. My God Is Real

11. Jubilee (featuring Patty Griffin)

Much thanks to the Wall Street Journal.

Insights Into Volcano Choir


It’s not exactly breaking news, but this 12 minute ‘documentary’ on Volcano Choir is pretty cool and you get to hear some music off the new album, Repave.

Here’s a track off the album as well: