Ex-Sonic Youth Frontman Forms New Band, Thurston Moore UK

Thurston Moore has formed a new band, Thurston Moore UK, which will open for Lee Renaldo and the Dust at London’s Garage on Nov. 21, 2013.

Moore continues to perform with his other band, Chelsea Light Moving; he currently lives in London.

He recently spoke about the influence of Lou Reed.

“Lou Reed is the all-time rock ‘n’ roll hero for people like me, who work on the margins of rock ‘n’ roll culture,” Moore told writer Keith Spera of The Times-Picayune. “He’s Elvis, Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Dylan, all together. He’s No. 1.”

Moore didn’t talk about his new band, but he gave a hint as to the point of name the band after himself.

“I was trying to get away from the ego-tripping thing, and any kind of spotlight on my name,” he said about calling his first post-Sonic Youth band Chelsea Light Moving. “But nobody knows who we are. Unless people are really trolling my Facebook, they don’t know that I’m in town. I think maybe the next record I do, I’ll call it Thurston Moore & Chelsea Light Moving.”

For more of Keith Spera’s story go here.

Chelsea Light Moving live:

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply