Best of 2013 Dept.: Stereogum Picks the Year’s 50 Best Albums

Stereogum has announced it’s 50 best albums of 2013.

Check out the list below, starting at the bottom and then rising album by album to #1.

Stereogum’s Top 50 for 2013

50. Phosphorescent – Muchacho (Dead Oceans)
49. Justin Timberlake – The 20/20 Experience Pt. 1 (RCA)
48. Carcass – Surgical Steel (Nuclear Blast)
47. A$AP Rocky – Long.Live.A$AP (ASAP Worldwide/Polo Grounds/RCA)
46. Yo La Tengo – Fade (Matador)
45. Youth Lagoon – Wondrous Bughouse (Fat Possum)
44. A$AP Ferg – Trap Lord (ASAP Worldwide/Polo Grounds/RCA)
43. Cassie – RockaByeBaby (Bad Boy)
42. Autre Ne Veut – Anxiety (Mexican Summer)
41. Janelle Monáe – The Electric Lady (Wondaland/Bad Boy)
40. Pharmakon – Abandon (Sacred Bones)
39. Pure Bathing Culture – Moon Tides (Memphis/Partisan)
38. The Knife – Shaking The Habitual (Rabid)
37. Forest Swords – Engravings (Tri Angle)
36. Julia Holter – Loud City Song (Domino)
35. Gorguts – Colored Sands (Season of Mist)
34. Yuck – Glow & Behold (Fat Possum)
33. The Field – Cupid’s Head (Kompakt)
32. Iceage – You’re Nothing (Matador)
31. Speedy Ortiz – Major Arcana (Carpark)
30. Oneohtrix Point Never – R Plus 7 (Warp)
29. Phoenix – Bankrupt! (Glassnote/Atlantic)
28. Drake – Nothing Was The Same (Cash Money)
27. The National – Trouble Will Find Me (4AD)
26. Migos – YRN (Self-released)
25. Nine Inch Nails – Hesitation Marks (Polydor)
24. Bill Callahan – Dream River (Drag City)
23. Deerhunter – Monomania (4AD)
22. Superchunk – I Hate Music (Merge)
21. Chvrches – The Bones Of What You Believe (Virgin/Goodbye)
20. Blood Orange – Cupid Deluxe (Domino)
19. Tegan And Sara – Heartthrob (Warner Bros.)
18. Chance The Rapper – Acid Rap (Self-released)
17. Windhand – Soma (Relapse)
16. Waxahatchee – Cerulean Salt (Don Giovanni)
15. Kvelertak – Meir (Sony Music Scandinavia/Roadrunner)
14. Savages – Silence Yourself (Matador/Pop Noire)
13. Kurt Vile – Wakin On A Pretty Daze (Matador)
12. Run The Jewels – Run The Jewels (Fool’s Gold)
11. Volcano Choir – Repave (Jagjaguwar)
10. Arcade Fire – Reflektor (Merge)
09. Daft Punk – Random Access Memories (Columbia)
08. HAIM – Days Are Gone (Polydor)
07. Danny Brown – Old (Fool’s Gold)
06. Sky Ferreira – Night Time, My Time (Capitol)
05. My Bloody Valentine – m b v (Self-released)
04. Disclosure – Settle (Cherrytree)
03. Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires Of The City (XL)
02. Deafheaven – Sunbather (Deathwish)
01. Kanye West – Yeezus (Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam)

To see all the covers plus notes about each album and a link to hear the music at Spotify, head to Stereogum.

— A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post —

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply