Lee Ranaldo Ups Ante With Last Night On Earth

Lee live

Lee Ranaldo and the Dust is the Sonic Youth guitarist/singer/songwriter’s new band. In addition to Lee, the combo includes drummer Steve Shelley, guitarist Alan Licht and bassist Tim Lüntzel. The new album, due Oct. 8, is titled Last Night On Earth and includes nine tracks: “Lecce, Leaving,” “Key-Hole,” “The Rising Tide,” “Last Night On Earth,” “By The Window,” “Late Descent no 2,” “Ambulancer,” and “Blackt Out.” The album is a distinct evolution from Lee’s first post-Sonic Net solo effort,  the under-rated Between The Times & The Tides.

In case you haven ‘t yet seen it, here’s the video for “Lecce, Leaving”:

Lee is also a visual artist. This summer he had an exhibit of his “Lost Highway Drawings” at a gallery in Portugal. Here’s one of them:



You can see more here.

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply