Watch: Lou Reed Memorial — Hour & 45 Minutes Of Music, Tribute

Photo via

Jim Fouratt shot video of the Lou Reed memorial. I posted individual clips previously but now he’s put together an hour and forty-five minute video.

Jim Fouratt writes:

“THIS A IS A LOW RES GOOD AUDIO DOCUMENTATION OF MOST THE PERFORMANCES AT THE Memorial includes Laurie Anderson, Mo Tucker, John Cale , Patti Smith , Debbie Harry, Paul Simon, Antony, John Zorn, Jenny Muldar, Lenny Kaye , Mark Ribot, Hal Wilner + others , .I made it for myself and share it with all LOU fans who were not able to attend Let me put the memorial into context : In the Buddhist tradition it takes days 49 days for the spirit to leave the body.It is called “bardo.” Like Jewish Shiva, Irish wakes and different cultural rituals, it is a time for the living to share stories and simply just sit together to help each other and most importantly help the spirit be fully freed into into the Cosmos, December 16 was the fiftieth day and at the Apollo Theater a celebration of Lou Reed’s life and work took place with his friends and family gathered with his wife the artist Laurie Andersen all saying goodbye, good speed Lou”

Thanks for posting this Mr. Fouratt.

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply