Listen: Four Tet, Jarvis Cocker Contribute to ‘Sun Choir’ & ‘Boats’ Benefit Albums

Marram Featuring Jarvis Cocker and Margaret Bennett, “Falling from the Sun” (from Sun Choir):

Four Tet, “Gillie Amma, I Love You” (from Boats):

From the Everything Is New Project website:

Sun Choir is an album of new music by Edinburgh-based band Marram, recorded with and for the Light Of Love Children’s Choir, and featuring collaborations with renowned musical personalities from around the world, including Jarvis Cocker, Owen Pallett, doseone, White Hinterland, and Margaret Bennett.

BOATS – a 29-track double album featuring exclusive tracks from Four Tet, Dan Deacon, Bear in Heaven, Califone, Deerhoof, El Guincho, Gang Gang Dance, Lucky Dragons, Julian Lynch, Max Tundra, No Age, The Ruby Suns, Rustie, Son Lux, Sun Airway, A Sunny Day in Glasgow, Taken By Trees, Jamie Stewart (Xiu Xiu), YACHT, and many, many more. Each artist on BOATS created their songs using samples of the Light Of Love Children’s Choir, originally recorded for Marram’s Sun Choir.

The albums benefit Scottish Love in Action, a charity that provides food, clothing, education, and medical care to children in southeast India.

More info here.

And here:

Both albums will be released January 20, 2014.

— A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply