Best Of 2013 Dept.: NME Picks Year’s Best Albums

Here’s NME’s Top 26 albums of 2013. For the rest, head to NME.

1. Arctic Monkeys – ‘AM’
2. Kanye West – ‘Yeezus’
3. Queens of the Stone Age – ‘…Like Clockwork’
4. Foals – ‘Holy Fire’
5. Savages – ‘Silence Yourself’
6. Daft Punk – ‘Random Access Memories’
7. Arcade Fire – ‘Reflektor’
8. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – ‘Push The Sky Away’
9. Laura Marling – ‘Once I Was An Eagle’
10. David Bowie – ‘The Next Day’
11. Jon Hopkins – ‘Immunity’
12. MIA – ‘Matangi’
13. Drenge – ‘Drenge’
14. Vampire Weekend – ‘Modern Vampires Of The City’
15. Peace – ‘In Love’
16. Jagwar Ma – ‘Howlin’’
17. Waxahatchee – ‘Cerulean Salt’
18. Hookworms – ‘Pearl Mystic’
19. Disclosure – ‘Settle’
20. The National – ‘Trouble Will Find Me’
21. Iceage – ‘You’re Nothing’
22. Deerhunter – ‘Monomania’
23. Chvrches – ‘The Bones Of What You Believe’
24. Parquet Courts – ‘Light Up Gold’
25. Haim – ‘Days Are Gone’
26. Factory Floor – ‘Factory Floor’

— A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post —

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply