Best Of 2013 Dept.: The Guardian Picks Year’s Best Albums

My Bloody Valentine make the cut.

The Guardian has finished rolling out it’s best albums of 2013 list. Brooklyn Vegan has been keeping taps and today makes it easy to check out the entire list in one quick read.

There are 40 albums in the list. Here are the Top 20. For the rest, go here.

The Guardian’s 20 Best Albums of 2013

20. David Bowie – The Next Day

19. Arctic Monkeys – AM
18. These New Puritans – Fields of Reeds
17. Laura Marling – Once I Was an Eagle

16. Kacey Musgraves – Same Trailer, Different Park
15. Earl Sweatshirt – Doris
14. Chance the Rapper – Acid Rap
13. Lorde – Pure Heroine
12. Haim – Days Are Gone

11. The National – Trouble Will Find Me
10. My Bloody Valentine – m b v

9. Janelle Monae – The Electric Lady

8. John Wizards – John Wizards
7. Kelela – Cut 4 Me
6. Disclosure – Settle

5. James Blake – Overgrown
4. Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the CIty
3. Daft Punk – Random Access Memories
2. John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts
1. Kanye West – Yeezus

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply