Audio: Patti Smith Live in Detroit, Dec. 12, 1976 – complete show

Photo via Patti Smith’s Facebook page.

Here Patti Smith performing at the Masonic Temple in Detroit, Michigan, December 12, 1976.

Set list:

1. We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together – 00:50
2. Kimberly – 03:37
3. Redondo Beach – 08:07
4. Free Money – 13:31
5. Poppies – 17:50
6. Ask The Angels – 25:20
7. Pissing In A River – 29:00
8. Pumping (My Heart) – 35:02
9. Ain’t It Strange – 39:02
10. Band Of Gold – 48:26
11. Radio Ethiopia – 51:46
12. Rock ‘n’ Roll Nigger – 59:55
13. Gloria – 01:09:42
14. My Generation (special guest: Rob Tyner)- 01:16:17

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –

1 thought on “Audio: Patti Smith Live in Detroit, Dec. 12, 1976 – complete show

  1. Thank you thank you thank you. My first Patti Smith concert. The start of a serious obsession. When she says, at the start of the show, “Hey, there’s a couple of empty seats over here,” those seats were directly in the row in front of me. The security guards at the Masonic Temple were notorious bastards, and it was great that she called them out. I remember her demonstrating the dances during “Land Of A Thousand Dances,” and being much looser than at any time after her fall off the stage in Tampa, about a month or so later. One of the best shows I’ve ever seen, and I’m ecstatic that I finally get the chance to hear it again.

Leave a Reply