A Reporter Rides On Doug Aitken’s Station To Station Train

Photo by Robert Gauthier.
Photo by Robert Gauthier.

In today’s Los Angeles Times there’s a cool article by Deborah Vankin about Doug Aitken’s Station To Station project. The three week traveling art and music festival was heading from Barstow, CA to LA and Vankin reports on the journey. Musicians who have participated in Station To Station include Patti Smith, Beck, Thurston Moore and Cat Power. Savages and No Age will perform Saturday Sept. 28, 2013 at 16th Street Station in Oakland, CA.

Read Vankin’s story and see a great slide show by photographer Robert Gauthier here.

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply