Watch: Robert Plant’s Malian Journey, “Zirka”

In 2003 Robert Plant and his band headed to Mali and Performed at the Festival in the Desert. The trip was videoed, mostly by Plant himself, and has been turned into an eight part series, “Zirka.” The first episode went online today, and there will be a new one every Monday. You can catch them each week here at Days of the Crazy-Wild, or head to Robert Plants website and watch there.

Robert writes on his Website about the series:

Call it fate or lady luck smiling down on me…

In 2001 my life in music hit a wondrous curve onto a road of good fortune – of new invention. I am ever intrigued by new possibilities and places and people to land amongst.

Zirka is a rough travelogue…

A journey of revelation…one of the most illuminating and humbling experiences of my life.
A journey that took us from the scurry and bustle of our world into the homeland of the Tuareg..the Sahel of Mali, Timbuctoo and north to Essakane.
A journey that could only reinforce the power and the great gift of music across and between cultures..sharing outside of language. A world where for awhile, at least borders, boundaries and barriers once again fell it was long ago..

— RP

Watch the first episode below:

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply