Deconstructing Station To Station “Nomadic Happening”

Cat Power on the train.
Cat Power on the train.

Earlier this week, while lunching at a steakhouse in Barstow, CA, Los Angeles artist and Station To Station mastermind Doug Aitken said his art project “is kind of a living organism… I like encounters; I like randomness and physicality.”

In a a strong feature in the New York Times today, writer Melena Ryzik does a great job of getting at the heart of what Station To Station is all about. The three week traveling art and music exhibit which ends today at Oakland’s 16th Station with, among other things, performances by No Age and Savages.

Read Ryzik’s story in the Times.

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply