Beck’s “Morning Phase” Due In February

Beck returns with his first new album in five years in February 2014.  The new album, Morning Phase, is, according to a press release, along the lines of the acoustic, ballad filled Sea Change, released in 2002, which had a Nick Drake vibe at times.

For the new album Beck utilized many of the same musicians who played on Sea Change including Joey Waronker, Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Smokey Hormel, Roger Joseph Manning Jr. and Jason Falkner.

The album will be Beck’s first for Capitol Records. He previously recorded for Geffen Records.

Here’s a video for “The Golden Age” off Sea Change.

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply