Linda Perhacs First Album in 44 Years Due in March

Back in September I reported that psych-folk singer Linda Perhacs, whose 1970 Parallelograms is now considered both highly influential and a classic, was working on a new album, her first in 44 years.

Today it was announced that the album, The Soul of All Natural Things, will be released on Sufjan Stevens’ Asthmatic Kitty label on March 4th. in a press release Perhacs said:

We get too far out of balance and we must find a way to get back to our polestar. I felt that people needed to be reminded of that. My music isn’t just recreational, it’s not just entertainment. I have a deeper purpose. My soul is giving itself to the people; I want them to be helped, I want them to be lifted.

Listen to a song off the album:

Track listing:

1 The Soul of All Natural Things

2 Children

3 River of God

4 Daybreak

5 Intensity
6 Freely

7 Prisms of Glass

8 Immunity

9 When Things Are True Again

10 Song of the Planets

Read more about the new album here, and get some background on Linda Perhacs here.

— A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post —

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply