Audio: John Cale, Patti Smith, David Byrne & More Rock New York Club, 1976

John Cale, Lou Reed, Patti Smith and David Byrne.

This is a raw but exciting recording from 1976 and 1978 posted at YouTube by “Sir Eddie Graf.”

The following info is direct from the YouTube post:

John Cale & Friends – Ocean Club, NY 1976

Friends: Lou Reed, Patti Smith, Mick Ronson, David Byrne, Alan Lanier, and Chris Spedding.

First 11 tracks live at The Ocean Club in New York, July 21, 1976.

Last 6 tracks are recorded at Max’s Kansas City, New York, October 3, 1978 with Chris Spedding on guitar.

01. 00:00 Ghost Story 2:38
02. 02:37 Buffalo Ballet 2:56
03. 05:33 You Know More Than I Know 2:53
04. 08:26 Guts 3:39
05. 12:05 I’m Waiting For The Man 5:53
06. 17:58 Close Watch 2:03
07. 20:01 The Jeweller 11:51
08. 31:52 Gun 4:10
09. 36:01 Pablo Picasso 3:53
10. 39:54 Cable Hogue 5:50
11. 45:43 Baby, What You Want Me To Do 4:43

12. 50:26 Pablo Picasso 2:01
13. 52:26 Mary Lou 2:38
14. 55:05 Nasty Gasses 8:52
15. 1.03.56 Unknown 2:24
16. 1.06.19 Solo Instrumental / Fear 3:19
17. 1:09:38 Thoughtless Kind 3:03

Thanks “Sir Eddie Graf.”

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply