Tag Archives: John Cale

Audio: John Cale, Patti Smith, David Byrne & More Rock New York Club, 1976

John Cale, Lou Reed, Patti Smith and David Byrne.

This is a raw but exciting recording from 1976 and 1978 posted at YouTube by “Sir Eddie Graf.”

The following info is direct from the YouTube post:

John Cale & Friends – Ocean Club, NY 1976

Friends: Lou Reed, Patti Smith, Mick Ronson, David Byrne, Alan Lanier, and Chris Spedding.

First 11 tracks live at The Ocean Club in New York, July 21, 1976.

Last 6 tracks are recorded at Max’s Kansas City, New York, October 3, 1978 with Chris Spedding on guitar.

01. 00:00 Ghost Story 2:38
02. 02:37 Buffalo Ballet 2:56
03. 05:33 You Know More Than I Know 2:53
04. 08:26 Guts 3:39
05. 12:05 I’m Waiting For The Man 5:53
06. 17:58 Close Watch 2:03
07. 20:01 The Jeweller 11:51
08. 31:52 Gun 4:10
09. 36:01 Pablo Picasso 3:53
10. 39:54 Cable Hogue 5:50
11. 45:43 Baby, What You Want Me To Do 4:43

12. 50:26 Pablo Picasso 2:01
13. 52:26 Mary Lou 2:38
14. 55:05 Nasty Gasses 8:52
15. 1.03.56 Unknown 2:24
16. 1.06.19 Solo Instrumental / Fear 3:19
17. 1:09:38 Thoughtless Kind 3:03

Thanks “Sir Eddie Graf.”

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

Listen: Alternative Version of Velvet Underground’s “I’m Beginning To See The Light”

Another previously unreleased Velvet Underground track from the multi-disc White Light/ White Heat due out next Tuesday.

Thanks Rolling Stone.

— A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post —

Listen: Previously Unheard 19-Minute Version of Velvet Underground’s “Sister Ray”

On December 10 the Velvert Underground’s White Light/ White Heat will be released as a multi-disc set with lots of previously unreleased material. Here’s a 19-minute live version of “Sister Ray” recorded at the Gymnasium in New York City on April 30, 1967.

— A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post —

Listen: Unreleased Velvet Underground Track Sees The Light, “I’m Not a Young Man Anymore”

A heretofore unreleased Velvet Underground recording, “I’m Not a Young Man Anymore,” went online today.

The song features a blistering guitar solo from Lou Reed.

It will appear on the expanded three-disc edition of 1968’s White Light/White Heat that will be released December 3, 2013. The album, co-curated by John Cale and Lou Reed before Reed’s death in late October, will include mono and stereo mixes of the entire album plus alternate and unreleased outtakes such as John Cale’s creep “The Gift.”

“I’m Not a Young Man Anymore”:

— A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post —

Watch: Full 1993 Velvet Underground Reunion Concert In Hamburg

This video of the Velvet Underground performing in Hamburg at Alsterdorfer Sporthalle on June 11, 1993 starts in darkness, but after a minute or so the lights come on and you can see all of them playing. The sound quality is OK, but good enough.

Final Velvet Underground Song A Tribute To Sterling Morrison

The remaining three members of the Velvet Underground — Lou Reed, John Cale and Maureen Tucker — performed this tribute to Sterling Morrison at the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame awards dinner in 1995. The Velvets were inducted into the Hall of Fame that night.

Velvet Underground’s Deluxe Three-disc “White Light/ White Heat” Coming Soon


The Velvet Underground’s second album, White Light/White Heat, will be released as an expanded three-disc set on December 3, 2013.

In addition to remastered stereo and mono versions of the challenging album, there will be a bunch of alternative versions of tracks including “Hey Mr. Rain,” new mixes of “Beginning to See the Light” and “Guess I’m Falling in Love,” and previously unreleased vocal and instrumental versions of “The Gift,” according to Rolling Stone.

Plus a live set recorded at the Gymnasium in New York on April 30, 1967 that includes “I’m Waiting for the Man,” “Sister Ray” and “Run Run Run.”

“No one listened to it,” Lou Reed said in a statement. “But there it is, forever – the quintessence of articulate punk. And no one goes near it.”

Here’s a mono version of “Sister Ray” off White Light/White Heat.

Read more at Rolling Stone.