Audio: Journey Back to 1975 & Bob Dylan’s Rolling Thunder Review — Hour Plus

This Rolling Thunder Review show, which took place at the War Memorial Auditorium, Plymouth, MA, October 31, 1975, kicks off with a terrific version of “When I Paint My Masterpiece” that has the feel of Basement Tapes Dylan and the Band.

This is a fantastic set with Dylan in great voice. I’ve included a couple of videos below the audio, just so you can get a little of the vibe of this musical caravan.

Info courtesy of BOBFAN.

0. When I Paint My Masterpiece !
* It Ain’t Me, Babe (missing from circulating tape)
* A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall (missing from circulating tape)
1. Romance In Durango !
2. Isis !
* The Times They Are A-Changin’ [Dylan/Baez] (missing from circulating tape)
3. Never Let Me Go [Dylan/Baez] !
4. Mama, You Been On My Mind [Dylan/Baez] !
* I Shall Be Released [Dylan/Baez] (missing from circulating tape)
5. Diamonds And Rust (Joan Baez) !
* Mary Hamilton (Joan Baez) (missing from circulating tape)
* Love Song To A Stranger (Joan Baez) (missing from circulating tape)
6. Oh Happy Day (Joan Baez)
7. Please Come To Boston (Joan Baez) (one-minute fragment)
8. Chestnut Mare (Roger McGuinn)
9. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Joan Baez)
10. I Don’t Believe You !
11. Hurricane !
12. Oh Sister !
13. One More Cup Of Coffee !
14. Sara !
15. Just Like A Woman
16. This Land Is Your Land [Revue]

! indicates tracks from the recently-surfaced tape,

Thanks BOBFAN!

“Tangled Up In Blue/Isis”:

“Romance In Durango”:

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

About Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg is a distinguished pioneer in the online music space; Newsweek magazine called him an ‘Internet visionary.’ In 1994 he founded Addicted To Noise (ATN), the highly influential music web site. He was a senior vice-president and editor in chief at SonicNet from March 1997 through May 2000. In 1997, Addicted To Noise won Webby awards for best music site in 1998 and 1999, and also won Yahoo Internet Life! awards for three years running as best music site in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Prior to starting Addicted To Noise, Goldberg was an editor and senior writer at Rolling Stone magazine for 10 years. His writing has also appeared in Wired, Esquire, Vibe, Details, Downbeat, NME and numerous other publications. Michael has had three novels published that comprise the "Freak Scene Dream trilogy": "True Love Scars," "The Flowers Lied" and "Untitled" which can be ordered here. His new book, "Wicked Game: The True Story of Guitarist James Calvin Wilsey," can be pre-ordered from HoZac Books. In November Backbeat Books will publish "Addicted To Noise: The Music Writings of Michael Goldberg," which can be be pre-ordered here.

Leave a Reply