Tag Archives: Lee Ranaldo

Audio: Bob Dylan Tribute with Lee Ranaldo, The Specials, Emmylou Harris & More, June 2002 – full album

Yesterday I posted volume one of Uncut magazine’s wonderful tribute to Bob Dylan.

Today I’ve got Hard Rain – A Tribute to Bob Dylan – Vol.2.

This was originally released June 2002.



01. 0:00:00 Hamell On Trial – It’s Alright Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
02. 0:03:48 Echo & The Bunnymen – It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
03. 0:07:19 Lee Ranaldo – Visions Of Johanna
04. 0:15:17 Paul Westerberg – Positively 4th Street
05. 0:19:20 Yo La Tengo – I Threw It All Away
06. 0:21:29 The Specials – Maggie’s Farm
07. 0:24:56 The Charlatans – Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You
08. 0:28:13 Dr. Feelgood – Highway 61 Revisited
09. 0:32:04 Robyn Hitchcock – Tangled Up In Blue
10. 0:38:26 Buddy & Julie Miller – Wallflower
11. 0:41:17 Steve Harley – Love Minus Zero / No Limit
12. 0:47:19 Ani DiFranco – Hurricane
13. 0:54:24 Cowboy Junkies – If You Gotta Go, Go Now
14. 0:57:20 Gallon Drunk – Series Of Dreams
15. 1:03:26 Emmylou Harris – Every Grain Of Sand

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –

Lee Ranaldo “Wants To Teach You Guitar”


If you’re in New York on October 28, head over to Other Music before 8 p.m. According to a flyer, Lee Ranaldo plans a demonstration and discussion of… the guitar.

This is a cool way to let everyone know Ranaldo has a new album out. It’s a good one too, Last Night on Earth. 


New Column: Kim Gordon Steps Into Spotlight

Body/Head pushes into the noise-rock frontier.

By Michael Goldberg

The bright lights shine on Kim Gordon. The New Yorker, which never profiled Sonic Youth during the group’s 30 years as one of New York’s most celebrated and influential bands, kicked things off by devoting six upfront pages to Gordon this past June.

body heat
(photo by Djil)

Since then, as the early October release date of Coming Apart, the album she recorded with her current musical collaborator Bill Nace under the name Body/Head, came and went, other major publications devoted space to Gordon. From the New York Times and Rolling Stone to Pitchfork, writers have been more than excited to talk to Gordon about whatever she’s willing to talk about, including her new, challenging noise rock.

“I wasn’t trained as a musician,” Gordon told the New York Times’ Ben Ratliff. “But I did grow up listening to a lot of jazz records, and John Coltrane.”

Coming Apart’s opening song, “Abstract,” Gordon said, has a structure similar to Coltrane’s Meditations: “You have a theme,” she said, “and it falls apart, and then it comes back.”

To read the rest of this column, head over to Addicted To Noise.

Listen: Lee Ranaldo Premiers Trippy “Ambulancer”


Lee Ranaldo’s second post-Sonic Youth album, Last Night On Earth, will be released October 8 on Matador. Meanwhile he’s given us a second preview with the release of “Ambulancer,” a track that shows off the album’s psychedelic sound.

When this song started out, on acoustic guitar, the riff that I began with reminded me of Neil Young’s ‘Ambulance Blues’ in some way – which is a song I love dearly,” Ranaldo told Rolling Stone. “It’s turned out nothing like that but that initial spark carried over into the finished lyrics.”

Lee Ranaldo Ups Ante With Last Night On Earth

Lee live

Lee Ranaldo and the Dust is the Sonic Youth guitarist/singer/songwriter’s new band. In addition to Lee, the combo includes drummer Steve Shelley, guitarist Alan Licht and bassist Tim Lüntzel. The new album, due Oct. 8, is titled Last Night On Earth and includes nine tracks: “Lecce, Leaving,” “Key-Hole,” “The Rising Tide,” “Last Night On Earth,” “By The Window,” “Late Descent no 2,” “Ambulancer,” and “Blackt Out.” The album is a distinct evolution from Lee’s first post-Sonic Net solo effort,  the under-rated Between The Times & The Tides.

In case you haven ‘t yet seen it, here’s the video for “Lecce, Leaving”:

Lee is also a visual artist. This summer he had an exhibit of his “Lost Highway Drawings” at a gallery in Portugal. Here’s one of them:



You can see more here.