Tag Archives: Mark Lanegan

Audio: Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, Thurston Moore Do Awesome Version of the Gun Club’s ‘Nobody’s City’

This is so great you need to just stop reading and click ‘play’ on the SoundCloud player below.

Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, Thurston Moore cover the Gun Club’s terrific “Nobody’s City.”

The song appears on the just released Axels & Sockets, a collection Jeffrey Lee Pierce covers. Pierce, of course, was the leader of the Gun Club. (There’s another excellent cover at the bottom of this post.)

Album track list:

01 Iggy Pop & Nick Cave (feat. Thurston Moore) – Nobody’s City
02 The Amber Lights & Debbie Harry – Kisses For My President
03 Black Moth – Mexican Love
04 Julie Christensen – Weird Kid Blues
05 Slim Cessna’s Auto Club – Ain’t My Problem Baby
06 Crippled Black Phoenix & Cypress Grove (feat. Mark Lanegan & Bertrand Cantat) – Constant Limbo (Constant Rain)
07 Nick Cave & Debbie Harry – Into The Fire
08 Kris Needs Presents…Honey – Thunderhead
09 Mark Lanegan & Bertrand Cantat – Desire By Blue River
10 The Amber Lights & Xanthe Waite – Kitty In The Moonlight
11 Ruby Throat – Secret Fires
12 Andrea Schroeder – Kisses For My President
13 James Johnston – Body And Soul
14 Primal Scream – Goodbye Johnny (Andrew Weatherall’s Nyabinghi Noir Mix)
15 Hugo Race – Break ‘Em Down
16 Cypress Grove – My Cadillac
17 Lydia Lunch & Jeffrey Lee Pierce – The Journey Is Long
18 Mark Stewart & Jeffrey Lee Pierce (feat. Thurston Moore) – Shame And Pain

This one is damn good too:

Black Moth, “Mexican Love”:

– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

Stooges’ Guitarist James Williamson’s ‘Re-Licked’ Comes Into Focus

Cover art by Trina Merry for the “Open Up and Bleed” single.

I’ve previously written about the album James Williamson, The Stooges’ guitarist best known for his contribution to the amazing 1973 Stooges’ album Raw Power, has been recording.

Williamson’s guitar work on Raw Power put him on the map, but I’ve also always loved his playing on the Iggy Pop solo album, New Values, and there are plenty of Stooges’ bootlegs that show off Williamson’s unique sound as well.

Now I’ve got more info about Re-Licked via Joel Gausten’s website.

The album will be comprised of songs Williamson and Iggy wrote but that were never officially released (or properly recorded).

Songs to be on the album include: “I Got A Right,” “Rubber Legs,” “She Creatures Of The Hollywood Hills,” “Wild Love,” “Heavy Liquid” “Open Up And Bleed” and “Gimme Some Skin.”

Singles include: Jello Biafra, Mark Lanegan, Ariel Pink, Lisa Kekaula of The BellRays and Carolyn Wonderland, the Texas singer who is on the upcoming single, “Open Up And Bleed” b/w “Gimme Some Skin.”

The current touring version of The Stooges — bassist Mike Watt, saxophonist Steve Mackay and drummer Toby Dammit — play on the album along with Williamson of course.

So far the album has mostly been recorded at Dave Grohl’s studio in Northridge, CA.

Re-Licked will be released on Williamson’s Leopard Lady label.

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –