Tag Archives: Lucinda Williams

Video: Lucinda Williams Rocks New Song, ‘Protection,’ on ‘Fallon’ – Watch Right Now!

The great Lucinda Williams was on “Fallon” last night and performed a seriously great track off her new two-CD album, “Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone.”

The album was released today and it’s a winner. If you dig Lucinda, you need it.

Check out this killer live version of “Protection”:

[I just published my rock ‘n’ roll novel, True Love Scars.” Rolling Stone has a great review of my book in a recent issue. Read it here. There’s info about True Love Scars here.]

Audio: Lucinda Williams Sings New Song, ‘East Side Of Town’ – Listen Now!

New Lucinda Williams album, Down Where the Spirit Meets the Bone, out September 30, 2014.

Meanwhile check out this soulful but bitter song off the album, “East Side Of Town.”

I like it a lot.

[I just published my rock ‘n’ roll novel, True Love Scars.” There’s info about it here.]

— A Days Of The Crazy-Wild blog post —

Video: Awesome Lou Reed Tribute at SXSW 2014 – Sean Lennon, Lucinda Williams & More

Sean Lennon.

Check out these videos from the recent SXSW tribute show.

Lucinda Williams, “Pale Blue Eyes”:

Sean Lennon, “What Goes On”:

The Black Lips, “Run, Run, Run”:

Suzanne Vega, “Walk On the Wild Side”:

The Fleshtones, “Real Good Time Together”:

Sharon Needles, “Candy Says”:

The Baseball Project (Scott McCaughey, Steve Wynn, Linda Pitmon, R.E.M.’s Peter Buck and Mike Mills), “Sister Ray”:

– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post –

Listen: Lucinda Williams Sings Bob Dylan’s ‘Positively 4th Street’

Cool version of “Positiely 4th Street” sung and played by Lucinda Williams.

This track is off the 1994 album In Their Own Words.

Thanks for hipping me to this version, Johanna’s Visions!

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

Songs For Slim Benefit LP Due Nov. 11 Features Jeff Tweedy, Lucinda Williams

A two-CD benefit album for former Replacements guitarist Slim Dunlap will be released on Nov. 11.

The album is titled Rockin’ Here Tonight: A Benefit Compilation For Slim Dunlap.

Disc one includes all of the songs from the Songs For Slim benefit EPs and singles that were released and auctioned over the past year. Artists include Jeff Tweedy, Lucinda Williams, Steve Earle, Frank Black, Craig Finn and John Doe.

A second CD features heretofore unreleased tracks by The Jayhawks’ pseudonymous LP.ORG, Soul Asylum, The Young Fresh Fellows, Peter Holsapple (The dB’s) and more.

The recordings that were auctioned off have raised about $200,000 according to Pitchfork. The money goes to help Slim, who suffered a debilitating stroke.

Here’s an update from Slim’s wife Chrissie Dunlap that appeared on Pitchfork:

“His comfort has been interrupted by many trips to the hospital, but his will to live is strong. His mantra is ‘Fight, fight, fight.’ All of us who love him are fighting with, and for, him. His strength, along with the love and support of so many wonderful friends and fans, has kept him going. Slim is so grateful for the Songs For Slim project and takes great joy in listening to his songs performed by some of his favorite musicians and friends. The revenue from the project has saved us from financial ruin, enabled us to hire nursing help and therapists, and helped to make him as comfortable as possible. Slim and the family send our love and gratitude to New West and everyone involved in the project, and everyone who bought a song for Slim. Special thanks to our long time friend, Peter Jesperson, who worked tirelessly to produce Songs for Slim, and to whom we are eternally grateful.”


Disc 1 (The 45s)
1. Busted Up (The Replacements)
2. Radio Hook Word Hit (Chris Mars)
3. Times Like This (Steve Earle)
4. Isn’t It? (Craig Finn & Friends)
5. Partners In Crime (Lucinda Williams)
6. Nowheres Near (Tommy Keene )
7. Rockin Here Tonight (The Minus 5 feat. Curtiss A)
8. Cozy (Tim O’Reagan & Jim Boquist)
9. Ain’t No Fair (In A Rock ‘N’ Roll Love Affair) (Jakob Dylan)
10. Taken On The Chin (Joe Henry)
11. Just For The Hell Of It (John Doe)
12. From The Git Go (Deer Tick + Scott Lucas + Vanessa Carlton)
13. The King & Queen (Frank Black & The Suicide Commandos)
14. Ain’t Exactly Good (You Am I)
15. Hate This Town (Patterson Hood)
16. Loud Loud Loud Loud Guitars (The Young Fresh Fellows)
17. The Ballad Of The Opening Band (Jeff Tweedy)
18. From The Git Go (Lucero)

Disc 2 (unreleased bonus tracks)
1. Laugh It Up (it’s all a big joke anyway) (Peter Holsapple)
2. Girlfiend (John Eller)
3. Little Shiva’s Song (Soul Asylum)
4. Slim’s Place (The Young Fresh Fellows)
5. Two By Two (Bee, Louie & Brien)
6. When I Fall Down (Chris Mars)
7. Chrome Lipstick (Chan Poling)
8. Times Like This (Frankie Lee)
9. The Ballad Of The Opening Band (LP.ORG)
10. Love Lost (The West Saugerties Ale & Quail Club feat. John Sebastian)

Dave Pirner of Soul Asylum talks about Slim:

Tom Waits, Lucinda Williams Give Tracks To Blind Willie Johnson Tribute


Blind Willie Johnson had a voice that could burn the skin off your back. When he sang he might as well been gargling with rocks. He made Howlin’ Wolf sound like Frank Sinatra. His gospel recordings are legendary. Most famous, perhaps, is “Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground,” or maybe “John The Revelator.”

“Johnson’s music was charred with purgatorial fire — more than sixty years later, you can still smell the smoke on it,” wrote Francis Davis in his book, “The History of the Blues.”

Now a tribute album is in the works. Tom Waits is contributing covers of two songs: “Soul of a Man” and the amazing “John The Revelator.” Lucinda Williams checks in with “Nobody’s Fault But Mine,” the Cowboy Junkies recorded “Jesus Coming Soon,” and there are contributions from the Blind Boys of Alabama, Luther Dickinson, Rickie Lee Jones, Sinead O’Connor and more.

To fund the project, producer Jeffrey Gaskill is using Kickstarter. For more of the story, or if you’re interested in checking out what you get for what you give, head to this Kickstarter page.

Listen to “John The Revelator”:

And “Dark Was The Night, Cold Was the Ground.”

Video: Lucinda Williams Rocks Tipitina’s


Lucinda Williams played two nights (Sept. 15 and 16, 2013) at New Orleans’ famed Tipitina’s to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the release of her self-titled Rough Trade album.

Here’s a fan shot video of “Real Live Bleeding Fingers And Broken Guitar Strings.” What I dig are the raw Stonesy guitars.