Tag Archives: Hallelujah

Exclusive: Rare ’67 Dylan Photo Plus ‘Complete Basement Tapes’ Unreleased Track List & More

Bob Dylan filming in March 1967 for “Eat The Document,” not long before the start of the “Basement Tapes” sessions. Photograph courtesy Arie de Reus.

Thirty songs that have not previously been released — either officially or on bootlegs — are part of the 138 tracks on the upcoming set, The Basement Tapes Complete: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11, to be released November 4, 2014.

Of those 30 tracks, 13 were recorded in the “Red Room” at Bob Dylan’s house in Woodstock, where the “Basement Tapes” sessions began before moving to the Big Pink house in West Saugerries. As I previously reported, the “Red Room” was not painted red at the time the recordings were made.

The Red Room tracks: “Jelly Bean,” “Any Time,” “Hallelujah, I’ve Just Been Moved,” “My Buckets got a Hole In It,” “That’s The Breaks,” “Down By The Station,” “Edge Of the Ocean,” “Two Dollars and 99 Cents,” “Northern Claim,” Love is Only Mine,” “Pretty Mary,” “Mr. Blue” and “Roll On Train.”

In a few cases a portion of a recording has been heard before. This is so with “Bourbon Street,” which in the version to be released includes an additional four minutes of music, and “900 Miles From My Home.”

“‘900 miles’ is beautiful and not the fragment that you think it is,’ said a source who has heard the Complete Basement Tapes set. “It’s a fully realized version.”

According to my source, this is the complete list of previously unreleased tracks with asterisks marking the “Red Room” recordings:

1. Jelly Bean *
2. Any Time*
3. Hallelujah, I’ve Just Been Moved (trad, arr by Bob Dylan)*
4. My Buckets got a Hole In It (Clarence Williams)*
5. That’s The Breaks*
6. Down By the Station*
7. Edge of the Ocean *
8. Two Dollars and 99 Cents*
9. Northern Claim*
10. Love is Only Mine*
11. Pretty Mary*
12. Mr. Blue (Dewayne Blackwell)*
13. Roll On Train*
14. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
15. She’s On My Mind Again
16. I Shall be Released Take 1
17. Blowin’ in the Wind
18. One Too Many Mornings
19. A Satisfied Mind (Joe Hayes and Jack Rhodes)
20. It Ain’t Me Babe
21. If I Were a Carpenter (Tim Hardin)
22. Ain’t No More Cain (Take 1) (Trad. Arr. By Bob Dylan)
23. Ain’t No More Cain (Take 2) (Trad. Arr by Bob Dylan)
24. My Woman She’s A-Leavin’
25. Mary Lou, I love you Too
26. Dress it Up, Better Have it All
27. What’s It Gonna Be When It Comes Up
28. 900 Miles From My Home
29. Wild Wolf
30. Bourbon Street (an additional 4 minutes added to the track that has not been circulated).

Below are a some versions of songs that Dylan and The Band covered.

Hank Williams, “My Buckets Got a Hole In It”:

The Fleetwoods, “Mr. Blue”:

Porter Wagoner, “A Satisfied Mind”:

Tim Hardin, “If I Were A Carpenter”:

The Band, “Ain’t No More Cane”:

Ernest Williams & James (Iron Head) Baker, “Ain’t No More Cane On The Brazos,” 1933:

[I just published my rock ‘n’ roll novel, True Love Scars.” There’s info about it here.]

— A Days Of The Crazy-Wild blog post —

Video: Watch U2 at Haiti Benefit Do ‘Hallelujah’

On Saturday night U2 made a surprise appearance at a benefit for Haiti in Beverly Hills.

The band played their own songs plus Bono and The Edge joined Haitian singer Anaelle Jean-Pierre for a version Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah”

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-