Audio: My Imagined Bob Dylan Album

Bob Dylan has released at least three of the best rock albums. Period.

Highway 61 Revisited, Blonde On Blonde and John Wesley Harding are classics.

And his earlier albums, particularly Bringing It All Back Home, are exceptional too.

But Dylan has recorded many songs, and many versions of songs, that have not been officially released, or have only turned up decades later on the official bootleg series releases.

So sometimes I think about the albums that might have been.

Here’s one of my imagined Dylan albums, comprised entirely of tracks that didn’t make it onto official studio albums.

1 Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window:

2 Roll On John (1962)

Roll on John by Bob Dylan on Grooveshark

3 Freeze Out (later titled “Visions of Johanna,” 1966):

4 She’s Your Lover Now (solo piano version, 1966):

5 Let Me Die In My Footsteps (outtake, early ’60s):

Let Me Die In My Footsteps (Unedited) by Bob Dylan on Grooveshark

6 She Belongs To Me (outtake, 1965)

7 I’ll Keep It With Mine (Blonde On Blonde rehearsal, 1966)

I'll Keep It With Mine (Rehearsal) by Bob Dylan on Grooveshark

8 Blind Willie McTell (1983):

Blind Willie McTell by Bob Dylan on Grooveshark

9 Desolation Row (Outtake, 1965):

Desolation Row by Bob Dylan on Grooveshark

10 On A Rainy Afternoon (hotel room jam, 1966):

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

Leave a Reply