Tag Archives: copyright

Audio: The Copyright Files – Bob Dylan’s ‘I Shall Be Free #10’

Forty-Four years ago, on January 6, 1971, according to Tim Dunn’s “The Bob Dylan Copyright Files 1962-2007,” Bob Dylan’s song “I Shall Be Free #10” was copyrighted.

What’s odd about that is that the song was written and recorded nearly six and a half years earlier. It appeared on Dylan’s fourth album, Another Side Of Bob Dylan, which was released August 8, 1964.

I guess it slipped through the cracks.

Some (Clinton Heylin for one) think this song is a throwaway. I disagree. It provides a good counterpoint to the heavier material on the album, and it contains plenty of great lines.

While it’s a humorous song, it’s also an example of Dylan beginning to move away from traditional, straightforward songwriting.

The more surreal writing of later albums (Bringing It All Back Home, Highway 61 Revisited, Blonde On Blonde, John Wesley Harding) is alive and well in this song.

And it contains at least one classic Dylan line:

“I’m a poet, I know it, hope I don’t blow it.”

According to Clinton Heylin, there were some verses that Dylan chose not to record. Here’s one of them:

now malcolm x is on my trail
robert welch wants to throw me in jail
bishop sheen says i got no belief
rabbi greenbaum says I’m a thief

Below are two outtakes plus the version that’s on Another Side Of Bob Dylan.

“I Shall Be Free” (official version as it appears on Another Side of Bob Dylan), recorded June 9, 1964:

I Shall Be Free No 10 by Bob Dylan on Grooveshark

“I Shall Be Free #10” (outtake #2), recorded June 9, 1964:

I Shall Be Free No.10 (outtake 2) by Bob Dylan on Grooveshark

“I Shall Be Free #10” (outtake), recorded June 9, 1964:

I Shall Be Free No.10 (outtake) by Bob Dylan on Grooveshark

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-

Audio: Bob Dylan Releases Six LP Set of Unreleased 1963 Recordings

A year ago there was quite a bit of excitement around Sony releasing in Europe 100 copies of a four-CD collection of Bob Dylan recordings from 1962. The reason for the release was to extend Sony’s copyrights for the material.

“All Over You” from Gerde’s Folk City:

Now Sony has done it again, this time releasing 100 copies of a six-LP, 73-track set of previously unreleased recordings, Bob Dylan — 50th Anniversary Collection: 1963.

“You’ve Been Hiding Too Long,” from the Town Hall concert:

There are six tracks from studio sessions, including a version of “Percy’s Song” and a song called “That’s alright,Mama/Sally free and easy.”

“A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall” from Town Hall.

The rest are live recordings including a February 1963 show at Gerde’s Folk City in Greenwich Village, and the April 1963 Town Hall concert that was a turning point for Dylan when New York Times critic Robert Shelton wrote:

“Mr. Dylan is 21 years old, hails from Hibbing, Minn., wears blue jeans, presumably has little to do with barbers, and resembles a Holden Caulfield who got lost in the Dust Bowl,” and concluded by thanking the promoter “for straying from the sure box-office attractions to present a young giant.”

“Masters of War,” live at Carnegie Hall:

“Seven Curses” from Carnegie Hall:

“When the Ship Comes In” from the civil rights protest at the Lincoln Memorial — Dylan and Baez start singing it at 4 minutes, 8 seconds:

The full track list — this is from the discussion boards of the must-read Expecting Rain Dylan site:

LP1-Side A “Columbia Studios”

1. Eternal Circle-take 4 8-12-63
2. Percy’s Song- take 1 10-23-63
3. That’s alright,Mama/Sally Free and Easy – take 1 10-23-63
4. Hero Blues- take 3 8-12-63
5. East Laredo Blues-take 1 10-23-63
6. New Orleans Rag – take 2 10-24-63

Side B Gerde’s Folk City 2-8-63 (“The Banjo Tape”)

1. Lonesome River Edge
2. Back Door Blues
3. Bob Dylan’s Dream
4. You Can Get Her
5. Farewell
6. All Over You
7. Masters of war
8. Instrumental/Jam
9. Keep Your Hands Off Her
10. Honey Babe
11. Goin’ Back to Rome
12. Stealin’

LP 2 Side C

1. Ballad of Holis Brown (Westinghouse Broadcasting Co. 3-3-63)
2. Girl from the North Country
3. Only a Hobo (both songs Oscar Brand Show/World of Music March 63)

Town Hall 4-12-63

4. Ramblin’ Down Through the World
5. Bob Dylan’s Dream
6. Talkin’ New York
7. You’ve Been Hiding too long

Side D Town Hall 4-12-63

1. Ballad of Hollis Brown
2. Walls of Red Wing
3. All Over You
4. John Birch Paranoid Blues
5. Boots of Spanish Leather

LP 3- Side E (Town Hall cont.)

1. Hero Blues
2. John Brown
3. A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall
4. Dusty Old Fairgrounds
5. Who Killed Davey Moore

Side F (Town Hall cont.)

1. Seven Curses
2. Highway 51
3. Pretty Peggy-O
4. Bob Dylan’s New Orleans Rag
5. Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright
6. With God On Our Side

LP 4 -Side G (Home of Eve and Marie McKenzie 4-18-63)

1. James Alley Blues
2. Long Time gone
3. Only a Hobo
4. Untitled Blues Jam
5. A Hard Rain A-Gonna fall

The Bear,Chicago 4-25-63

6. Honey, just allow me one more Chance
7. Talkin’ John Birch Paranoid Blues

Side H (The Bear 4-25-63)

1. Bob Dylan’s Dream
2. Ballad of Hollis Brown
3. Talkin’ World War 3 Blues
4. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
5. With God On Our Side

LP 5 – Side I

(WFMT Rdio Studio-Studs Terkel Wax Museum 4-26-63)

1. Farewell
2. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
3. Bob Dylan’s Dream
4. Boots of Spanish Leather
5. John Brown

Side J

(Studs Terkel 4-26-63)

1. Who killed Davey Moore
2. Blowin in the Wind

Songs of Freedom-WNEW TV Studios 7-30-63

3. Blowin’ in the Wind
4. Only a Pawn in their Game

Lincoln Memorial.March on Washington 8-28-63

5. When the Ship Comes In (with Joan Baez)
6. Only a Pawn in Their Game

LP 6 – Side K

Carnegie Hall 10-26-63

1. Blowin’ in the Wind
2. Percy’s Song
3. Seven Curses
4. Walls of red Wing

Side L (Carnegie Hall 10-26-63)

1. Talkin’ World War 3 Blues
2. Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright
3. Only a Pawn in Their Game
4. Masters of War
5. Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll

-– A Days of the Crazy-Wild blog post: sounds, visuals and/or news –-